Vancouver | Attractions


Metro Vancouver is made up of 21 municipalities and the City of Vancouver is just one of them. Learn more about some of the areas around Vancouver, all with different personalities and fun ideas for your time in our destination. Below is a list of all 21 municipalities.



The City of Vancouver is a coastal, seaport city on the mainland of British Columbia. Located on the western half of the Burrard Peninsula, Vancouver is bounded to the north by English Bay and the Burrard Inlet and to the south by the Fraser River.

The City of Burnaby lies to the east and the Strait of Georgia to the west. Vancouver Island, across the Strait of Georgia, shields Vancouver from the Pacific Ocean.

Street layout

The streets in Vancouver generally form a standard grid, with most streets running north and south, and most avenues running east and west. The majority of avenues are numbered (1st, 2nd, 3rd, and so on) with two notable exceptions: Broadway, which replaces 9th Avenue, and King Edward Avenue, which replaces 25th. All streets are named.

Block numbers start with single digits on either side of Ontario Street, which is the east/west separator for avenues. For example, West Broadway runs to the west of Ontario Street, and East Broadway runs to the east. North of False Creek, the east/west separator for block numbers is Carrall Street.

Facts about Vancouver

Size: 114 km2 (44 m2)
Population: 603,502 (according to the 2011 census)
Vancouver is the largest city in British Columbia, and the eighth largest municipality in Canada; the Greater Vancouver metropolitan area (which includes neighbouring cities such as Burnaby, Richmond, and Surrey) is the third largest in Canada
City Hall coordinates: 49° 15' 39.14" N, 123° 6' 50.23" W
Pacific time zone: GMT -8
Pacific maritime ecozone
Stanley Park is one of the largest urban parks in North America